top of page
Regional Transportation Planning across New Mexico

There are seven Regional Transportation Planning Organizations (RTPOs) that serve and support the non-metropolitan areas of New Mexico, bringing together counties with tribal and local communities. The RTPOs are staffed by the Councils of Government (COGs) and Economic Development Districts (EDDs) that serve these regions, as depicted below. The COG and EDD offices are mapped with red pin points that link you to each COG or EDD website, and the Metropolitan Planning Organizations (MPOs) are marked with red diagonal stripes. MPOs and RTPOs each serve their own territories. They may collaborate but their jurisdictions do not overlap, though some communities may be within both an MPO and RTPO.

bottom of page